Metamorphosis (part 2)

For tread the Circle thrice about to keep unwelcome spirits out.
To bind the spell well every time, let the spell be spake in rhyme.

( taken from the Wiccan Rede)

“On this night under silv’ry moon, I call upon ye gods of old,

Listen to your daughter’s plea and let her roam wild and free.

I call upon thee great Bastet to add thy will to mine,

upon paws as black as night, with fluid moves and grace so feline,

with fur as soft as velvet and eyes with golden hue,

hearken to your child, let her be formed anew.

New life to me, so mote it be!

An it harm none, my will be done.”

Nothing happens, just a stirring of wind in the trees. I chant again after inhaling deeply the scent of Rowan wood which burns in my cauldron. Again, nothing. I summon my inner strength and chant again.

This time, the air around me shimmers, I feel it before I see it, the veil has come down and I am seeing the world of shadow around my circle. I look around the circle and give formal greetings to the Guardians of the Watchtowers. To the East I see Paralda, Queen of Air with sylphs, like wisps of clouds, floating around her shoulders. To the South I see Ghobb, King of Earth, gnomes resting against his throne and all armed with shields almost as big as they. To the West I see Nixsa, Queen of Water, undines tending her, decorating her shoulders with garlands of sea urchins, anemones and seaweeds of red and green. To the North I see the Djinn, King of Fire, a great salamander curled in his lap, its tongue, a flame, flicking out often to taste the air. My spell is working!

I feel a flicker of fear rise inside me, a nervousness that makes me feel I have butterflies flitting around me inside. I remember the challenge of my initiation. “It were better that thou plunge against this blade than to walk this path with fear in thy heart” A terrifying challenge when you are blindfolded and you are neither bound nor free, the cord around your neck feels tight and appears to tighten further.. and then you breathe and answer the challenge with the two words of passage and you are embraced by the High Priest who gives the third word of passage and you are welcomed to the circle, your fear dissolves somewhat, but always in the back of your mind is the knowledge that one wrong step along the path can cost your sanity or your soul. And so I breathe deeply and gather my wits about me once more. I chant again and focus my will upon myself, willing the transformation to begin and on the fifth repetition it does and my heart leaps within my chest!

But something has gone a little wrong….

About nicessus2012

A quiet woman with a hint of sanity
This entry was posted in Metamorphosis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

New writer, would appreciate feedback, thanks :)

