A few thoughts on bigotry

Let’s start with what is a bigot. This word is defined as : a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially : one who regards or treats the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance.

I’m going to put myself on the hotspot and lay myself open to dissection. For as long as I can recall I have been a fan of vampire fictions. Early on I caught glimpses of tall dark strangers in exquisite dress with a long cape the colour of blood on the lining and blacker than night on the outside. From there I progressed to reading Bram Stoker’s Dracula, watched Fright Night, moved on to Anne Rice and fell in love with Lestat, Louis, Armand etc..  Fast forward to the last few years and I watch The Vampire Diaries. Not entirely typical vampires but still fairly true to the original Dracula in that daylight will burn them to ashes and so the main characters get around this by the use of daylight rings. (Which brings in another passion: dungeons and dragons, heroes wearing rings that give them fire resistance or soak, amulets of power, enchanted swords and such, so a daylight ring is a logical step for me.)

So where does bigotry come into this?

Twilight.

I read, with a sneer, Facebook posts for team this and team that and sniggered rather self-righteously at “sparkle-pyres”. Without ever having read the books or seen the movies. Jumping to a small extent on the band wagon with fellow veteran vampire lovers in ridiculing the mere thought that nothing worse than sparkly skin afflicted these children of the night. Whilst this may not directly injure anyone or hurt anyone’s feelings it should be considered bigoted behaviour. I have a saving grace, however. I saw this flaw in myself and said to myself that I must at least watch the first movie before casting a judgement and so I did, and then watched the second, then the third and fourth. They have not really swayed me to think they are brilliant pieces of film, in fact it is my opinion that there cannot be any much worse movies out there that I could torture myself with. And yet they are strangely compelling so I have decided to hold judgement until I have taken the time to read the books. Books are always much better than the films anyway, apart from Lord of the Rings which I would always choose to watch rather than read as I am not a fan of Tolkien’s writing even though I do like the story.

It took a while but I did lay aside my presumptions and prejudices and my perceptions of what is right and I gave Twilight a chance.

So, I say, the definition of a bigot is this: someone who without a second thought denounces, ridicules, judges or attacks someone or something that is different to what they believe is the right way, the right behaviour, the right faith, the right colour, the right way to portray a vampire.

Now don’t judge me but I am going to see if I can get hold of

Breaking Dawn : Part 2

just so I can feel complete 🙂

The rather gorgeous vampire pictured below is Lord Hal Yorke from the BBC series Being Human (season 4 and 5) played by Damian Moloney. Now you see why I like vampires?

Image

About nicessus2012

A quiet woman with a hint of sanity
This entry was posted in My views of life. Bookmark the permalink.

New writer, would appreciate feedback, thanks :)

