I know I’m not forgiven…

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

So take this night, wrap it around me like a sheet, I know I’m not forgiven but I need a place to sleep  (Black Lab, Take This Night, album Passion Leaves a Trace, 2007)

So, forget the song and find inspiration in the line itself. I’m not 100% sure why I love this song but it does touch somewhere deep inside my soul. The hardest place to find forgiveness is in oneself, to either find the compassion to forgive someone else or to find the courage to forgive oneself. On the journey to forgiving oneself the soul cries out to be soothed and to find peace. “Take this night and wrap it around me like a sheet.” Hide my transgressions from the light of day, keep this secret hidden; away from the glare of accusing eyes I can find some escape from the demons that haunt my waking moments.

“But I need a place to sleep.” Sleep without dreaming preferably for in dreams we are confronted with our transgressions and our inner demons. Respite from those reminders and demons is necessary to have the space to find forgiveness.

“I know I’m not forgiven.” Can one ever truly forgive oneself? To forgive you must then forget and we carry our memories all our lives unless our memories are taken from us through injury or illness. To always have that memory… it takes a strong mind or many years passed to have that reminder and still convince the heart that you have forgiven yourself. At least I find it so.

 

About nicessus2012

A quiet woman with a hint of sanity
This entry was posted in My views of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

New writer, would appreciate feedback, thanks :)

